The end of a very long week

It’s a relief to be done with some pretty major responsibilities! Spring Break, are you here yet? Two more days.

I have two good news stories coming out tomorrow, and apparently, a column and news story for Friday’s newspaper. That’s seven stories in one week! Every moment of it is fantastic.

I’ll link to the stories tomorrow, but I’ll give you a brief synopsis of what you have to look forward to.

I interviewed Mark Finelli, a 9/11 survivor, for my EVERYONE HAS A STORY piece. The assistant news editor told me that if I could find someone like Finelli every week, it would be the highlight of his editing week. Be sure to read that article when it comes out.

Today, I had the opportunity to interview Justin Berfield, a “Malcolm in the Middle” star that I was really obsessed with at age 11. Basically, I had no life in middle school. I had stringy hair, a rolly backpack, two friends, and was the target of constant bullying. With that, I threw my life into “Malcolm in the Middle” and spent all my time thinking about the show and the cute actors.

A decade later, Justin Berfield, who played Reese, came to my university to publicize his new show “Sons of Tucson.” My 11-year-old self would have screamed for ten minutes straight at the chance to chat with Berfield.

I’d like to think I’ve grown up in the last ten years.

Anyway, I was sent by the Wildcat to cover the free screening of “Son’s of Tucson” in the Student Union Memorial Center.

“Sons of Tucson,” starring Tyler Labine, is a new Fox sitcom about three boys who hire a crook to pose as their father because their real dad has been sent to jail and they don’t want to be turned over to child protective services. The show is similar to “Malcolm in the Middle” and will definitely attract the same sort of audience.

Berfield and Labine were available for interviews before and after the screening.

The mayor was also there to present them with a key to the city.

Labine and Berfield were really nice and helpful, and I enjoyed chatting with them. Unlike his obnoxious bully character Reese, Berfield is extremely soft spoken, calm, quiet, and mellow. It was really unbelievable that Berfield could play such a callous, mean-spirited, loud, menacing brat since he’s actually the exact opposite in real life. I guess that’s what you call a good actor.

I really liked talking to Labine, who mentioned that he expects to be invited to a beer pong tournament on his next trip to Tucson.

A lot of audience members brought up “Malcolm in the Middle.” One girl asked Berfield, “What would Hal and Louis (his MITM parents) think of you right now?”

“Um, they’d be proud. They want the best for their kids,” Berfield said, and everyone laughed.

Berfield will be on the final episode of season one of Sons of Tucson. “Malcolm in the Middle” fans will be pleased to know that Berfield’s role will be a “reprise of Reese’s character.” The name will be different, but the character will be the same.

Stay tuned for my story on the showing.

6 thoughts on “The end of a very long week

  1. Pingback: Justin Berfield to Guest Star as ‘Reese’ on ‘Sons of Tucson’ – Malcolm in the Middle Voting Community

  2. Hi Laura,

    I also was obsessed with Justin but for a different reason. His acting is incrudiable, great facial expressions and so many accomplishments he did in his young life, wow 24 years old. I have written him letters, written him on twitter, written on celebrity loop that I would really like to meet him and shake his hand for all the accomplishments he has done. I’am retired but Justin and MITM is the only sitcom I have written to in all my years of watching sitcoms. So I hope it will happen someday that I will be able to meet him. I was hoping I could get a T-shirt from the meeting “Sons Of Tucson” when they were presenting the key to the city to Justin. Meet me in Davenport, Ia at Starbecks someday, JUSTIN!!!!!!!!
    Walt Smith

    • I just wanted to add Laura, that on twitter I wrote for Drew Carry to have Justin Berfiel on his TV show for a promotion on “Sons Of Tucson”. But now reply. ?????????
      walt773563

      • Hi Walt,

        I agree that he’s an incredible actor. Considering the fact that he’s so soft spoken and mellow, it’s amazing that he can play such a rowdy, nasty character like Reese. He really does have a gift for becoming his character. I hope you get to meet him someday, he’s a friendly guy and has a lot of interesting things to say. It would be hard not to like him. He’s definitely not your typical celebrity.

  3. Pingback: Justin Berfield Gets ‘Key’ to City of Tucson – Malcolm in the Middle Voting Community

  4. Hi Laura, Thanks for replying. Yes, I would like very much to meet him.. I always said in “Celebrity Loop”, I would like to meet him someday and congratulate him on all the accomplishments he has done. My three brothers said that you will never meet him, please Laura, prove them wrong. I’am 75 years old so I very much hope I will be able to meet him soon, sooner not later. You don’t know how much I would like to meet him. Thanks Laura for helping out, I really appreciate it. Would love to be a guest on Justin’s J2J2Tv set or even meet him here in Davenport.
    Walt Smith Davenport, Iowa

Leave a Reply

