Tags

, , , ,

Anytime I get hung up on living without a microwave, dishwasher, TV, set of drawers, closet, or bed (until Saturday morning, thank you Sleepy’s!), I watch “2 Broke Girls” on CBS.com and instantly feel like less of a failure for lacking basic amenities. As Mindy Kaling states in her memoir, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, pretty much everyone in New York City is miserable and constantly striving for the unattainable, and the gals on “2 Broke Girls” take that to a new level.

(From left) Max, Chestnut, and Caroline

In Monday’s episode, Max and Caroline do some research of lodging for the horse Chestnut, who has been residing illegally in Max’s Brooklyn apartment for several months. Now that winter is about to strike New York (snow is supposed to sweep across the city on Wednesday), the girls realize they need to find the animal a cozy place to live immediately.

Though perpetually sarcastic and snarky, Max exhibits more vulnerability than we’ve ever seen this week. Throughout the season, we’ve watched her talk to Chestnut, take him to the bathroom, and express concerns about his well-being to others, so it makes sense that she’d cry whilst saying farewell to him. After Chestnut gets settled into his new home, Max says something along the lines of, “Not a lot has gone well for me in life and it doesn’t look like that’s changing anytime soon. You were the only good thing.” It’s wonderful to see a different side of Max, who spends much of her time making fun of her dorky coworker, Han and former rich girl, Caroline. It seems sitcoms are required to bring out the softie in everyone during the holidays, but I didn’t expect to see Max tear up like that.

Max

Of course, she has been through quite a ride this season: Her new coworker Caroline moved in with her, the guy she liked ended up being a cad, and she’s not quite ready to put herself out there to start a cupcake business. There’s also her depressing backstory, which we get bits and pieces of every week. Only now is it clear that her unlucky lot in life makes her feel hopeless no matter how often she tries to laugh off her misfortune.

Now that I’ve recapped “2 Broke Girls” for you, I guess I should have a totally self-indulgent moment and compare my own experience to the show. I do this only because a friend asked me today whether “Sex and the City” is an accurate portrayal of New York City writing life. She already knew the answer to that loaded question: Hell no. Unless pampered by a billionaire husband, no journalist can afford to buy Manolos or a $300 pillow on a whim. “2 Broke Girls” may not be the most realistic depiction of NYC youth either, but at least it recognizes that everyone is struggling financially and constantly stressed about saving money in their twenties. What “2 Broke Girls” does not cover, however, is the way strangers react to NYC newbies.

I have enjoyed my time here the past few weeks, but become a little insulted by the condescending tone in which many random people address me. Three weeks ago, I attended a networking event and a woman in her thirties scoffed at me for introducing myself to everyone in sight. When I told her I’m 23, she laughed and said, “Oh, that’s so cute. You’re a baby.” I have had this conversation a few times since then and don’t really know what to make of people speaking to me as if I’m a toddler who is trying to fully grasp the English language.

I get it, folks: You find it adorable and perhaps even inspiring that I’m so young, fresh, and new to this place, but that doesn’t mean I’m incapable of thriving here. If anything, it should indicate that I’m totally able to succeed, but unfortunately my youth and “winsome spirit” (as a former colleague put it) give people the OK to raise eyebrows at me and say I’m a silly dreamer. Here’s my response to that: “You, you may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.”

