“Stand Up and Be Quiet!”

Grade school teachers yell at students to sit down and be quiet, but instructor Michelle Pentland of Lily Lake Elementary School in Stillwater, Minnesota believes that students can learn better when they’re on their feet, and I think she’s absolutely correct.

“We can teach them better when they’re moving around and more engaged in the learning,” she said.

Another teacher at the school believes the new technique will reduce obesity.

Elementary school students tend to inadvertently misbehave in class, and they’re usually punished for it. They have low attention spans, and they bore easily. By being told to sit, they can calm down and “think about what [they’ve] done,” but standing is a smarter approach to wild school children.

In second grade, I was constantly getting in trouble for running up to my best friend’s desk, which the teacher intentionally placed on the opposite side of the room. I did this because I needed to get out of my seat, and all my classmates felt the same way. Younger children need some sort of physical release to remain attentive in the classroom environment. Otherwise, they get restless, hence they live for recess, lunch, and playground adventures, and it would be nice if they could look forward to physical classroom activity as well. Maybe they wouldn’t hate school so much. It’s commonly accepted that everyone learns more in an active classroom as opposed to a passive one.

2 thoughts on ““Stand Up and Be Quiet!”

  1. I completely 100% agree. Kids are way too young to be sitting in stuffy desks all day. I tutor at an elementary school during the week and help out the kids that don’t know English very well and last week I found out that one of the girls I regularly work with is missing recess to be with me and I felt TERRIBLE. She will learn more in recess playing with the other kids than she would reading stories with me in a classroom.

  2. Thanks, Kerry. It’s hard enough sitting down all day at this age! Kids aren’t really wired for that. That’s nice of you to volunteer, and I’d be flattered by the little girl’s trust in you. She feels comfortable with you, but you’re right, she’d be better off interacting with other kids. She’ll learn English that way as well, she’s probably just worried the other kids won’t be as compassionate are you are. Encourage her to get out, though. Maybe you should go with her one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

