Tags

, , , , , , ,

Because high school sweetheart break-up stories are over-dramatic and amusing, I wish the Associated Press would have reported my own, but then I’d be on the same level as Bristol Palin. For a national news story, this article had very few details regarding the nature of Palin and Levi Johnson’s break-up. Sounds a little like high school to me, to tell you the truth.

Young Palin and Johnson are the parents of a 2 1/2 month-old infant, and they were engaged until this alleged break-up. They may have called it quits, but they’re stuck with each other now that they have a baby.

I always thought commentators were too hard on Sarah Palin and her family, and even though Bristol Palin didn’t make any smart decisions in the past year, I feel very sorry for any broken home.

Sympathies aside, I can’t help but wonder if the situation would have played out differently had Senator John McCain been elected president last November. Young Palin and Johnston could have been having problems as early as then, as shown in the news segment below:

Johnston, 19, told The Associated Press that he and 18-year-old Bristol Palin mutually decided “a while ago” to end their relationship.

If Palin were Vice President, would she have let this happen? Would she have told her daughter to stay with the baby’s father? I suspect ultra-conservative Palin would have wanted to maintain a semi-normal portrait of her family. Different election results could have potentially “saved” Bristol Palin’s relationship. This is all hypothetical, but I raise a few interesting points in regards to what could have been.

