My Summer in Paris: I Can Anticipate Sleep & Food

The Associated Press just reported that the French eat and sleep more than any other wealthy world nation. I’m spending seven weeks in France this summer, so while I’m glad I won’t be sleep deprived as I am in the United States, I hope not to gain weight from all the eating:

The average French person sleeps almost nine hours every night, more than an hour longer than the average Japanese and Korean.

Despite their siesta habit, Spaniards rank only third in the poll after Americans, who sleep more than 8.5 hours.

Do Americans really sleep that much every night? There’s no way in Hell I’ve ever slept that much, and after being in college for three years, I don’t think my body allows me to sleep longer than seven hours a night.

And while more and more French people grab a bite at fast-food chains these days or wolf down a sandwich at their desk, they still spend more than two hours a day eating.

“Italian men have nearly 80 minutes a day of leisure more than women. Much of the additional work of Italian women is apparently spent cleaning the house,” the OECD said in a statement.

All this leisure time sounds nice for a month, tops, and nothing more.

2 thoughts on “My Summer in Paris: I Can Anticipate Sleep & Food

  1. The irony is that somehow all of Europe manages to be healthier and thinner on average than Americans, despite having way more, and better, food.

    It’s all about lifestyle. I personally became apart of that when traveling to Europe, because even though I was eating asstons of less-than-healthy local food, I was still backpacking around and came back thinner than I left. Oh well.

  2. The same thing happened when I was in Paris and London. I walked at least ten miles a day, and I came home much thinner as well. I remember feeling upset that I couldn’t walk everywhere, and now I’m back to the driving culture.

Leave a Reply

