Tags

, , ,

Sometime tomorrow, I’m leaving Tucson for my road trip to D.C. My best friend from UA just graduated and is moving back home, so I’m joining her on the long drive, and we’re stopping in a few southern states on the way. I fly to Paris from there. It should be an interesting journey.

I’m writing all this because I never in a million years thought I would cry at the thought of leaving Tucson for the summer. As I freshman, I would have laughed out loud at this prospect. I always got upset when I had to come back to Arizona and leave beautiful northern California for several months. How times have changed in two years.

But I’m devastated, to tell you the truth. I’m going to miss all my UA friends, the heat, the cacti, the weird people wandering around campus, writing for the newspaper, studying, meeting new people, going out on the weekends, and everything about the University of Arizona.

Thankfully, I’m going to be in Paris with twenty other UA students, so I’ll have some connection to home. I want to thank everyone who has faithfully read my blog this academic school year, and just remember that I’m going to keep up with it as much as possible. You’ll see a lot of updates in my study abroad blog, which is among the blog roll links. Thanks for all the support and for encouraging me to keep writing in all circumstances.

I am thrilled for the summer, but I know I’ll be ready to be in Tucson at the beginning of August. I’ll be a senior in the fall, and God knows how much of a struggle I’ll have with that realization. It hit me when I turned in my British Literature final. I realized that I finished the hardest academic year of college. From here on out, I have 12 units a semester to throw myself into. It won’t be that hard.

Anyway, I’ll miss you guys, and I’ll miss even the most inconvenient, annoying things about Tucson. If you stay this summer, think of me when you drive by the UA or even when you’re hanging out with your greatest friends, because I’ll be wishing to be in your place.

