Brooke Shields Wished She’d Lost it Earlier in Life

Normally, I wouldn’t comment on anyone’s loss of virginity, but The Daily Beast just blogged about the confidence issues involved with Brooke Shields’s loss of virginity at age 22, and I feel obliged to opine on the psychology behind the general idea:

When asked about her biggest health regret, Shields responded, “Not learning to love the way I looked earlier. And I think I would have had sex a lot earlier! I think I would have lost my virginity earlier than I did at 22.”

Here’s the thing-I don’t think that having sex equates to being confident. Some of my most insecure friends had sex at age 14, and of course they loved the way they looked, but they weren’t big on self-respect. Shields should not view her relatively late loss of virginity as an embarrassment. In today’s overly sexual American culture, it’s enlightening to hear about women and men waiting longer to cash in their v-cards. Teenagers today seem too desensitized to sex, and sleeping around can actually have serious psychological repercussions.

To be honest, I do think it’s better to wait until at least adulthood (age 18) to have sex. High school seems too young. Who really wants to lose his virginity in the backseat of a car, or at home while hoping to God that his parents don’t show up early from work?

Anyone who waits a little longer to have sex should not blame the issue on self-confidence. Some of the most self-conscious people have sex at a young age.

Leave a Reply

