Domain, how about that?

All thanks to the Wildcat news editor, Michelle A. Monroe, I now have an actual domain for this blog.

Basically, http://lauraedonovan.com is my domain, and it will take you directly to the blog. I was considering making an actual website for myself, but the blog was a smarter option.

Again, I am always looking for news and opinion pieces tips. I’m approachable, so let me know if you’d like to see a certain topic written about in the Wildcat or here. Right now, I’m kind of excited because I’m in the third position for “Laura Donovan” under Google Search. There’s apparently a Laura Donovan School in New Jersey, so that institution gets more hits than the blog. My Twitter account ranks as number seven.

In other news, all is well at the University of Arizona. Every day, I get a little sadder about the fact that I’m graduating. To be honest, I have trouble justifying why we’re celebrating my graduation at all. I’m devastated about the fact that I have to leave the school that helped me find myself and create my identity. I’ve known all of my life that I want to write for a living, but the UA was the first place to really give me the necessary opportunities for that goal. I want to thank the Wildcat pretty much everything, but I also learned a lot from meeting with the Desert Lamp authors, both of whom always gave excellent advice and news tips.

It’s going to be hard for me to leave Tucson. I can literally start crying on the spot if I think about graduation for more than ten seconds. I do, however, know that even better things are going to happen in my life, and I’ll be able to continue thanking the UA for shaping me into the person that I am now. But seriously, why do I have to go? I’ve never in my life had so much fun and so many learning experiences. It doesn’t feel right to have to leave after just four years.

Well, like my mother always says: Better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all. If it’s not evident enough, I am in love with the University of Arizona.

Six days until I head home for Spring Break! Apparently, my mom, me, brother, and sister-in-law are going to see Chelsea Handler in San Francisco on Friday night. I’ll have to get my book signed if possible. Chelsea Handler is another non-fiction writer I aspire to follow in the direction of. She’s self-deprecating, funny, and, believe it or not, serious when she needs to be. Plus, I think it’s awesome that a girl can contribute to the wild party genre. Chelsea Handler has a lot more character than Tucker Max, who she is often compared to. She’s not nearly as mean spirited as this guy, and she actually knows what it’s like to be kind of a bum for a while, whereas he has never really known anything other than success and prosperity (law school, honors student at the University of Chicago, rich, etc.).

Enough rambling. Check out my domain! I’m pretty proud of that 🙂

Leave a Reply

