The situation!

It’s been an interesting week at the Wildcat. Who thought that only writing five stories a week would be considered slacking? Well, it is if you’re me, Luke, Anna, or Jazmine.

With that, I only wrote four news stories and one opinions piece this week. I had to focus on school, because I am, after all, a full time college student who needs to worry about academia on occasion.

Thankfully, I’ve always been a strong student, and I’m even better when I put forth as much effort as possible. I’m doing well in my final semester of college, and I hope to graduate with a good GPA.

Believe it or not, I was a much stronger student during my first two years at this university. I performed the best as a sophomore because I was trying to boost my GPA for a competitive France study abroad program, which I ended up attending in summer 2009. I wish the Wildcat news editor Michelle A. Monroe very well on her Arizona in Paris endeavors/adventures in summer 2010.

It’s been an eventful week at the Wildcat nonetheless, and I’d like to commend the excellent leadership, determination, and journalistic courage of opinions editor Anna Swenson and news reporters Luke Money and Jazmine Woodberry for their mature reactions to recent situations.

Swenson single-handedly writes most of the opinions page, and she never complains. She’s done a good job as desk editor this semester, and I’m glad that she has helped me in so many areas of my life in recent weeks. It’s nice to have new friends who listen and love to socialize. As I’ve said before, my friends have become my family, so I really appreciate having friends who are willing to chat with me multiple times during the day, even though we’re all insanely busy. Communication is the key to any relationship.

I want to recognize Luke Money and Jazmine for taking on an outrageous number of stories this week. They’re tireless journalists and exactly what the Wildcat and any newspaper needs. They’ve been blamed for things that weren’t their fault, and they’ve handled the circumstances with poise. I’m proud of them for their strengths, and I know that they’ll go extremely far in the journalism field.

As I’ve said before, I’m truly blessed to work with all the people that I do. There’s never a dull moment, and people from all different desks are friends.

I’m so glad to have become better friends with Swenson and Monroe this semester and to have gotten to know Luke and Jazmine. We all have the same sense of humor, Luke is basically the male version of me, and the four of us have similar interests. Thanks, guys, for making my last semester at the newspaper a worthwhile one!

Of course, the rest of the staff is phenomenal as well. The EIC is funny and hard working, everyone on the sports desk is hilarious, I’ve gotten to know the photographers really well, and I’ve even contributed to the Arts page. I’m beyond lucky to work in this environment, and my only complaint is that real life cannot possibly be this awesome 🙂

One thought on “The situation!

  1. You are the sweetest person ever Laura. Why are you graduating and leaving me here with a bunch of crazies? Haha, I’m kidding but I appreciate you busting your hump with me and Luke this semester. It completely solidified how much I love journalism…yes, even with the ‘Survivor’-esque nature of the desk. Hard to believe, maybe I’m just a glutton for punishment. You are going to be an amazing journalist, columnist and I would say amazing person but you already are amazing. Thanks for being super awesome, I appreciate it more than I can really tell you :]

Leave a Reply

