There is a season, turn turn turn

When I graduated Vine Hill Elementary School in June 1999, my teacher told me and the other graduates to listen to The Byrds’s “Turn Turn Turn.” My classmates and I appreciated the song for being catchy, but weren’t focusing on how the lyrics could relate to our new stage in life. Now that I’m graduating college, I can think about the song at a different level.

It reads as such:

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time for every purpose under heaven

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to laugh, a time to weep
A time to kill, a time to heal

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time for every purpose under heaven

A time to build up, a time to break down
A time to dance, a time to mourn
A time to cast away stones
A time to gather stones together

And so it goes. It’s extremely difficult to know that I’m graduating college next week, as excited as I may be to actually start my life and reach for the moon. Unlike a lot of my friends, I don’t have graduate school or Teach for America to go to post graduation, so there’s a real sense of uncertainty clouding my thoughts. I’m so stuck in No Man’s Land right now, I don’t know whether to be mentally checked out or just savor every last second I have at this place.

It can be difficult to do either, mostly because I just -know- that incredible life things are going to happen for me. I cannot explain it, but I have a lot of faith in what I can do and accomplish, so I know that my willingness to work extremely hard will land me big rewards someday. Even so, I am currently waiting to get my degree, and the ambivalence is really taking a toll on me.

On a side note, I’m proud to say that I got some excellent recognition and awards at yesterday’s Arizona Daily Wildcat Awards Banquet. The news editor gave kudos to me and all the dedicated news writers, I got an alumni award, and I received the Clyde D. Lowery Award for Professionalism and Integrity. I definitely was not expecting anything aside from an alumni award! I can’t say enough how grateful I am for the Daily Wildcat, which was truly the highlight of my college experience. I don’t believe I would have been able to do all of this at any other university or college newspaper. There’s just something about the Wildcat that I cannot get enough of.

It’s been absolutely fabulous to write for the Wildcat, and I’ve had a blast working and communicating with the Desert Lamp writers as well. In my final week at the newspaper, I have three news stories, possibly a column, and I’m even going to be profiled by the award winning Jazmine Woodberry. I’m really lucky to have worked with so many supportive editors, colleagues, and friends.

The photo above is of Luke Money, me, Jazmine Woodberry, and Bethany Barnes, the only four reporters that have stayed on staff since the very beginning of the semester. There’s been a lot of turnover, but we were too hungry for news to quit.

This should be the last of my sentimental posts. At this point, I’m thrilled for the future and excited to plunge into the real world. Regardless, I have to wait a little longer to do that, and the grace period is no fun.

I experienced the same anxiousness to move forward exactly one year ago, when I was finishing up my junior year at UA. I stayed in Tucson a few days after finals ended, and I had nothing to do. The city was so dead, so lifeless once classes let out.

Then, I went on my cross country roadtrip with my best friend Tracey, who had just graduated from UA. In three days, we drove from Tucson, Ariz. to Washington, D.C. We stopped in Midland, Texas and Knoxville, Tennessee before hitting D.C. on our third day.

After that, I spent a week hanging out in D.C. I stayed with my family in northern Virginia, visited my close friend Jon, who was interning at the State Department, and prepared for my study abroad trip to Paris.

On May 30, my summer really started. I flew from D.C. to Paris, France, and I didn’t sleep for the entire seven-hour flight. I was way too excited to sleep, even though I hadn’t been able to rest the night before. Naturally, I just couldn’t wait to truly start my summer.

With that, you probably understand that I don’t do well with downtime or simply hanging out at home. This gives me all the more reason to stay as busy as possible once I move to D.C., which is my favorite city in the world. Wish me luck on my risky endeavors.

2 thoughts on “There is a season, turn turn turn

  1. Well, your sentimental posts bring a virtual tear to my eyes. I mean, are you kidding? I am so ridiculously grateful to have spent a semester with your fantastic writings. Anna and I will be coming to visit your bachelorette pad in the district. I mean, you are going to do great! REMEMBER ME WHEN YOU ARE FAMOUS!

  2. Jazmine, you are way too sweet! And hello you’re the one who is going to be famous! I hope you never forget me!!! And yes, you have to visit me in D.C. I will miss you so much. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

