DC

I’m finally in Washington, DC. It’s great to be here, especially since I took a bit too long to make the move/transition. There was a reason for all that, however.

Two weeks after college graduation, I went on a 5-week trip to my friend’s French Riviera house.

While in France, I cracked jokes nonstop with Angela, took too many pictures, ate lots of French Nutella and pasta, relaxed, reflected, and, as always, had countless come-to-Jesus conversations, although most of these “conversations” were with actually myself. I didn’t feel comfortable journaling outside of my travel blog, so I kept half of my thoughts and observations to myself. So it goes.

After my trip, I flew to Boston, where all my father’s relatives reside. There’s nothing more peaceful than reading by the pool in Cape Cod, talking to my uncles and grandmother, and soaking up northeast humidity. Once it was time to leave the wonderful Commonwealth of Massachusetts, I headed back to Tucson, Arizona to say goodbye to all my local college buddies.

There were a series of other family visits/trips, and then it was time for me to move on with my life, much to the relief of my mother, who mentioned having unusual dreams about being annoyed with me, even though my mom is probably the least angry person you will ever come across. But, now that I’m gone, she calls me twice a day. It’s not easy being an empty nester when you’ve been a mom for almost 34 years. At least she still has the nephews, all of whom I miss 24/7.

I’m living with my friend/former alumnus of the Washington Semester Summer internship program, which we partook in two summers ago. We just invested in a bookshelf, which I’m in love with:

I think we’re going to get another one in the coming months. Our favorite shared activity is reading.

We saw Eat Pray Love the other day. If you’ve ever read my blog entries or Twitter account, you know that I’m obsessed with the memoir. Unfortunately, the movie wasn’t quite as powerful. The film adaptation merely scratched the surface of the main character’s internal and emotional struggles. For cinematic purposes, the director changed some key parts of the storyline. Not cool.

Leave a Reply

