My life, explained in an article

I’ve been a picky eater my entire life, much to the chagrin of my friends and family members, so I was nearly brought to tears when I stumbled upon a Fox News piece on the science of picky eating. As it turns out, there might be an actual disorder behind the “bad habit” of eating like a bird.

I couldn’t help but immediately identify with Bob Krause as I read this passage:

Krause likes peanut butter, crackers, grilled cheese sandwiches, chocolate milk and little else. More adventurous meals look like “a plate of barf,” he told LiveScience.

“If I could snap my fingers and change, I would,” he said, explaining his pickiness helped ruin two marriages, limited his career options and makes most social occasions sources of stress.

And this is exactly how I feel. Lots of foods smell or look like vomit, so my diet is highly limited. As the article states, picky eating can put a damper on social and professional lives, and there’s almost no way of getting around this.

“People who are picky aren’t doing this just to be stubborn,” said eating researcher Nancy Zucker of Duke University.

If only the rest of the world would understand this reality. None of us choose to live this way, we merely cannot physically stomach some of the food that’s put in front of us. It could be psychological, and I’m sure I’d scarf down some of the repulsive meals if I absolutely had no other food source, but I’d definitely get sick. It’s truly unfortunate that food has to play such a major role in our culture. I must say, I’m relieved to know that I’m not the only person with such an aversion to adventurous foods.

Leave a Reply

