Another day, another dream about the west, tabula rasa

At least I’m experiencing warm weather in my dreams.

I miss the Old Pueblo!
Sunny day in Arizona

As you know, I’ve been dreaming about sunshine for weeks, and I’ve also been actively monitoring Weather.com’s 10-day forecasts for D.C. and Tucson. I’m set to fly out of Dulles on January 27, and from what I’ve read so far, D.C. will be partly cloudy that day. Tucson of course will be sunny, although the temperature will be in the high 60’s, low 70’s. I’ll need a light jacket for sure, but sunshine and dry heat are all I really need.

I know it's nerdy, but Angela and I did this all throughout our summer 2010 France trip!

Someday I hope to be wealthy enough to visit Arizona once a month. During a phone call with my mom earlier today, I actually choked up talking about the current D.C. weather, which is perpetually gloomy. It may as well be London.

I was initially concerned that my computer had died, and I’d also been mad that the metro had shut down all the stations I needed due to MLK Day track maintenance. What kind of a city does that on a Monday when most people still have to work? Anyway, soon after my computer started working again, a stinkbug flew onto my t-shirt and this was enough for me to lose composure.

“I can’t stand hideous bugs and the miserable east coast winter weather,” I told my mom.

“That’s why your dad left New York City in the 80’s. He hated the crummy weather. That’s why my father moved us out of Philly when I was 12. But if it makes you feel any better, I went to the beach yesterday. It was 70 degrees in Santa Cruz,” she said.

That did put a smile on my face and an end to my case of the Monday’s. My mom also reminded me that I’m going to Arizona in less than two weeks, therefore I could endure snowy, rainy D.C. until my vacation. Like a good parent, she advised me to man up and think positive. And she’s right.

I’m looking forward to my trip to Tucson, and as naive and wishful as this may seem, I’m hoping that Arizona will be warm enough for me to wear my sun dresses. This trip won’t be about seeing as many people as possible, but spending time with the ones that really want to chat with me.

I’m also relieved to have made peace with everything Tucson-related. I can go to Arizona without worrying about any trouble or old conflict. I think this vacation is going to be better than the last, and I’m really hoping to reconnect with the people I didn’t see or call on my last visit to Tucson. 🙂 It’s never too late to have a fresh start or pick up where you left off.

January 27, get here quickly, s’il vous plait.

By the way, a string of new interns have started up at work. I like everyone I’ve met, and I know they’ll all do good work. I tell them all the time to enjoy college while it lasts, although I’m sure they don’t need a reminder.

But hey, today one of the new interns asked me, “Where do you go to school?”

“I graduated from Arizona in May,” I told him. Later on, I said, “Thanks so much for thinking I’m still a student!”

But I will admit that nothing beats having a job you love. I don’t miss homework, nor do I miss finals, midterms, quizzes, or 8 a.m. classes.

Good things are going to happen, both here in D.C. and in Tucson ten days from now. Let the countdown begin.

One thought on “Another day, another dream about the west, tabula rasa

Leave a Reply

