Yoga fun, cutting down on coffee, average joe article

Yesterday’s yoga session was great and possibly inspiring enough for me to purchase a monthly pass. It’d be a bit of a splurge, but a worthwhile one at that.

A pre-natal yoga course took place before my yoga-on-the-go class, so I ran into a bunch of pregnant women in the studio. One of the ladies explained that she’d gone on a baking binge, and thankfully she was nice enough to bring some cupcakes to yoga. Hooray for red velvet snacks!

After class, I approached the instructor and said I felt physically off-balance. I have poor center of gravity and sometimes put more weight on the left side of my body than on that of the right. The teacher explained this could result from not having a balance in my emotional, personal, and work lives. She sure has that right!

Anyway, she demonstrated some positions I could work on to fix this problem and help me achieve a stronger balance all around. It will be my new goal to stand on one foot while the other leg flies up in the air. I’m sure I will be able to do it in time.

A while back, I vowed to curb my coffee intake. I broke this promise and gave in to tasty, routine temptations. Having just read an awesome D.C. yogi’s blog entry on breaking up with coffee, I might resurrect this desire and find a way to demote caffeine in my existence.

Want, all the time!

Time and time again, I’ve attempted to substitute java for tea, but the latter really isn’t my “cup of tea” (sorry for the cheesy pun!). Every time I consume tea, I feel nauseous. This has been a problem since college, but back then, I thought I just couldn’t stomach the hot fluid beneath scorching southern Arizona sunshine. I can’t drink it in moderately warm D.C., either.

Yesterday, I had some Earl Grey tea at Starbucks and almost immediately thought I was going to hurl. Hopefully I can develop some sort of tolerance for it soon enough. This Friday, I’m getting bubble tea with my Georgetown friend Adam in his lovely college town, so fingers crossed I don’t publicly embarrass myself again!

Today, I read an interesting “Good Men Project” article written by a high-achieving female lawyer who says she loves dating her blue collar boyfriend. While I agree it’s rude to shoot someone down for being an “average joe”, I don’t think I’d be happy with someone uneducated. That might make me a snob, but school is important to me. Not too long ago, I met a country lad who had fairly good manners but came across as condescending towards scholarly folks. Every time I said something, he raised his eyebrows and exuded a “holier than thou” attitude that really rubbed me the wrong way by the end of the afternoon, when he said he wanted to hang out with me. I opted out because he berated working professionals for not doing enough outdoorsy activities. He also had a very limited idea of what’s categorized as a hobby. In his eyes, nothing aside from hunting, shooting, hiking, mountain biking, paint-balling, and other manly-man activities passed his productivity test. I quickly told him I found it abominable that his friends murdered animals (lions, tigers, elk, and deer!) for leisure. He went on to slam east coast people for residing in a place too cold for outdoor fun, but not everyone can play outside all day. He insulted me for preferring city living (houses/apartments close together) to isolated 20-acre land properties, reading and writing instead of owning firearms, and doing gymnastics and yoga rather than softball or some other highly athletic sport. I immediately told myself that he just didn’t understand my lifestyle because he hadn’t gone to college. Whether or not I’m right, we clearly weren’t a good fit.

Now, this isn’t to say nature boys aren’t educated. I used to date an Eagle Scout camper who attended the Air Force Academy, which is one of the finest higher educational institutions in the country. He would rather go mountain biking than sit in a classroom, but he didn’t deny the relevance of academia.

The bottom line is that it’s not easy to relate to someone of different values and interests. To each his own, and I applaud anyone who finds love regardless of circumstances and backgrounds, but you must share some sort of common ground with your romantic partner.

As one of my Twitter followers put it, you can’t always judge a book by its cover. Allie and Noah are resplendent in love in “The Notebook” despite the fact that she attends Sarah Lawrence College and he’s all about manual labor.

In my book, nerd love always prevails. Hence, I sort of prefer the relationship in “Adventureland” that follows Oberlin College graduate James and NYU student Em’s nerd romance:

Leave a Reply

