Tags

, , , , , ,

I have nothing valuable to contribute to the debt ceiling discussion, so if you’d like to avoid any and all things budget-related, you’ve come to the right place. For wall-to-wall debt coverage, visit The Daily Caller, the greatest political news site you’ll ever come across.

If you’re interested in light reading, here are some links to my latest pieces:

1. No one wants to adopt a cat that looks like Hitler
2. Jamie Lynn Spears’s daughter covers aunt Britney’s latest hit, “Up N’ Down”
3. Miley Cyrus debuts gay rights tattoo
4. Miss Cougar International speaks out: So what if we like young guys?

If you’re too lazy to skim the articles and prefer pictures, look at some of The Daily Caller’s recent slideshows:
1. Scarlett Johansson
2. Ke$ha cleaned up
3. Olsen twins
4. Juno Temple

If you’d rather laugh than drool over snapshots of ScarJo, check out my creeper blog, which has some hysterical updates and new creepshow stories.

While we’re on the topic of creepsters, Nikki rejected my favorite creeper synonym, so I won’t be calling anyone a “sketchball” in the near future. Nikki is certain that “lurker” works best, so we’ll use that to describe the next weirdo we encounter.

Today, my colleague Matt Lewis (the professor) published a moving article on the ways in which Hollywood has undermined the modern father. I’ve had this discussion with some of the interns before. In movies and on TV, dads are often depicted as dopey losers who get bullied by their wives and children. In film, married men are undersexed, belittled, and emasculated. All bets are off if they have children. As Lewis explained, this hurts females as well:

“If one wonders why marriage rates are plummeting — or why modern women must wade through a generation of commitment-phobic suitors stuck in an adolescent/adult-hybrid — this might serve as a clue.”

Trust me, you do not want me to get started on my Kay Hymowitz soapbox, but you can’t argue the validity of her argument that female empowerment has influenced men to regress. Productions like “Old School,” “The Hangover,” “Entourage,” “Knocked Up,” “I Love You Man,” and “Grown Ups” perpetuate the slacker lifestyle, but us girls aren’t perfect either. Like our male counterparts, we’re marrying later, taking longer to jump start our adult lives, and a bit directionless at times.

Regardless, none of this changes the awful stereotype to which American dads have been unjustly attributed. As much as I enjoyed the 2007 rom-com “Dan in Real Life,” I despised every character but that of Steve Carell, a widowed father of spoiled, ungrateful, bratty daughters. His other family members are callous as well.

The middle child is too self-involved and obsessed with her high school boyfriend to respect her grieving dad and the eldest daughter thinks she knows better than her father. Carell’s character’s mother is condescending and all his relatives underestimate him. When did it become humorous to throw stones at American dads? I certainly wasn’t raised to belittle my parents, although I was frequently scolded and dubbed out-of-control by teachers in elementary school. It happens when you get up from your seat in the middle of class to chat with your best friend across the room! I was never a fan of school teachers, but I honored my parents and elders. If anything, I’d be happy to see mean instructors replace dads as Hollywood’s punching bag. Think Principal Trunchbull in “Matilda”:

Let’s not forget the preachy lady from “Donnie Darko”:

"SOMETIMES I DOUBT YOUR COMMITMENT TO SPARKLE MOTION!"

