Tags

, , ,

Yesterday, my new roommate Monique moved into our two-bedroom apartment, ending my month-long stint of living solo. Though I enjoyed having my own space, the quiet affected me so much that I opened a Netflix account and caved into the “Glee” series, which up until last week, I refused to watch on principle.

I’m relieved the show isn’t as cheesy or preachy as I expected, but the high school storyline no longer appeals to me. Maybe I’ve finally outgrown such plots, although I absolutely adore Lea Michele’s overeager, tenacious character. Though more soft spoken, I employed a similar style of enthusiasm back in high school during student government, spirit rallies, and track.

I don’t know if I’ll finish out the first season, but “Glee” is good company in a spartan apartment flooded with worries. Now that I’m back to having a roommate, television programs won’t be of much use to me. As a kid, I tuned in to so many Nickelodeon shows that I lost interest in TV towards the end of seventh grade. By high school, I only watched “American Idol” and “The O.C.” With the exception of “Gilmore Girls” DVDs and the occasional “Greek” episode, I avoided TV programs during college.

Monique and I probably won’t even invest in cable. Besides, we both speak French and agreed to practice more often, as our speaking abilities have regressed since leaving France. We have French books and artwork in the living room and it’s her mom’s native language, so we’ll definitely maintain the Parisian theme at our apartment. We just got a couch, so beds are the next items on the must-have list.

I probably won’t get much shopping done this weekend, though. Tomorrow, a memorial service for Stephen DeDakis will be held, so I’m going to that in the early afternoon. You can read his obit here. I was more than a little disgusted by ESPN sportswriter’s Tony Kornheiser’s version of Stephen’s story, which leaves much to the imagination. In a nutshell, Kornheiser recalled noticing a seemingly vacant parked car near his home just days before the hurricane. When Kornheiser saw that a window was rolled down, he became concerned that the vehicle owner wouldn’t roll it up before the massive storm. Kornheiser soon heard that a corpse had been found in the car. He described the incident in somewhat of a callous manner. He laughed about it with another man, but what he doesn’t realize is that the dead body was somebody’s son. A missing person is no joking matter, especially when said individual passes away and leaves behind parents, siblings, friends, and relatives. Earlier this year, I had the opportunity to meet Kornheiser and liked his personality and warmth, but this simply wasn’t the way to comment on the death of a 22-year-old man. It may seem funny to you that a seemingly innocuous Volkswagen on your street contains a deceased young guy, but his family members have just experienced the worst loss imaginable and could do without the sophomoric “OMG dead body” jabs. Grow up.

You can listen to the tactless segment below:

