A day without coffee, my concerns with ’50/50′

I’ve had coffee every day for the past year and a half, but somehow forgot to drink my daily caffeine intake until 4:30 p.m. That explains the pounding headache that still hasn’t gone away. When I don’t sip my cup of joe early enough in the day, I’m past the point of no return and the migraine sits with me for hours on end. Moral of the story? I’m dependent on coffee, for better or worse. It’s a semi-healthy addiction though, as coffee apparently lowers depression risk in women! Talk about a win win.

Iced mocha from Peets Coffee


The other day, I saw a pair of newlyweds posing for photographs in the middle of a DuPont Circle island crosswalk! They were in the heart of a traffic circle, the one spot in the world where courtesy picture rules don’t apply. This isn’t Disneyland. People aren’t going to stop dead in their tracks in front of impatient, inattentive cab drivers just so you can have a peculiar wedding photo to stick above the family fireplace.

Maybe they met at that exact spot and wanted a snapshot beside it, but there’s a time and place for sentimental photographs. That wasn’t one of them.

Day by day, I’m in denial that summer ended two months ago. Last night, I ventured out to Adam’s Morgan in my favorite lime green skirt from Italy. Though I had a fun evening with friends, it was clear the moment I stepped outdoors and my teeth began chattering that I should have opted for warmer going-out clothing.

Last year, D.C. fall season discouraged me from wearing shorts, skirts, and dresses. I left the apartment today in one of my favorite Anthropologie skirts only to scramble back inside as soon as I felt a drop of rain and gust of wind. I slipped into my favorite corduroy Goddesswear pants and rushed outside more prepared, but felt like a slob.

This year, I won’t let the chilly weather dictate my outfit choices, even though I’m sad that my sundresses and I are going on a eight month break. Former Daily Caller interns Nikki and Katie have been instrumental in getting me to dress to impress, so today I took their advice during my trip to Macy’s.

Katie, a strong believer in the phrase, “beauty hurts,” is a bigtime high heels proponent and would be happy to hear I purchased these today:

Of course, I’ve helped Katie out with her style as well, so I’m not completely useless when it comes to clothing. After seeing “Harry Potter” with me in Georgetown one afternoon, Katie complained that her wedges had created numerous blisters and cuts on her feet. She got to the point where walking became impossible, so I told her to stroll through the city barefoot. People do it frequently in the bay area, so she should feel free to do the same over here on occasion. Katie quipped that I’m too Californian for my own good, but I know the difference between a worthwhile sacrifice and unnecessary pain. We keep each other in check.

On my quest for adorable winter/fall apparel, I consulted Nikki Grey, my sunny, street-smart Nevada buddy who can also be trusted to tell the truth and don swanky business attire. She advised me to avoid grays and blacks because they wash me out, so I’m sticking with brown articles of clothing. The color may not be as professional or grown-up, but you have to understand the canvas with which you work. I’m fair-skinned and red-headed, so I have to factor all that into my selections.

Monique and I want to see that new movie, “50/50,” which follows a young man (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) who has cancer. Seth Rogen co-stars alongside Gordon-Levitt as the clueless friend who is “burdened” with dealing with a sick friend. I think we’ll watch the film for sure, but I can’t wrap my head around the idea of a “comedy” about cancer. Sure you have to make light of the sickness to get through the inevitable unbearable days, but there’s absolutely nothing to laugh about when someone loses their mind to a brutal, life-sucking illness.

Also, why does Rogen keep doing this? In 2009, he appeared in “Funny People,” which tells the story of a middle-aged guy (Adam Sandler) coming to terms with leukemia. “Funny People” and “50/50” are half comedy, half drama, but Rogen should be ashamed about using his comedian status to joke about something that destroys millions of lives every year. This isn’t “Knocked Up,” which is about a deadbeat slacker dude who impregnates a successful female television reporter. I’m tired of the insensitive themes of his movies. Unexpected pregnancies aren’t funny either, especially since the woman in “Knocked Up” wants a more responsible father figure for her baby. Granted, Rogen’s character matures, but why should two people have to learn to fall in love with each other? That sort of thing cannot be forced. If your boyfriend or girlfriend has to grow on you from day one, you’re setting yourself up for an awful relationship.

As someone who has lost an immediate family member to cancer, I understand that you need to find humor in the sea of chaos and tragedy to come out okay. When the radiation treatment started messing with my dad’s mind in 2006, he made nonsensical statements and accusations once a week. He would get confused and disoriented, say the nurses were mishandling with his medicine, and even get upset with me for pleading with him to take his pills.

“Why are you being so hard on me, Laura?” he’d say. “When did you turn into one of them?”

By “them,” he meant our family members.

After two months, he picked up on the fact that the chemotherapy had changed his personality and caused him to say unusual things. Every once in a while, he’d tap me on the shoulder and ask a bizarre question.

“Who am I?” he’d say, his eyes darting around the room in horror.

“You’re Paul from New Jersey,” I informed him.

“No, that’s not right. I’m Justin Timberlake!”

At that point, he was aware that he’d lost himself somewhere along the line, and the only way to cope was through jabs. I’m sure “50/50” carries a similar message, and I most definitely respect that. Unlike my dad, the main character becomes ill at a young age. My father was lucky enough to get diagnosed with cancer at 56, long after he’d had children, gotten married, traveled the world, and established a career. He had no qualms about dying, but a 27-year-old cancer victim has so much more living to do. I can’t imagine what Gordon-Levitt’s character has to chuckle about.

Of course, I cannot judge “50/50” until I view it, so if you have seen it, please share your thoughts on the matter with me in the comments section. I’m eager to hear what audience members have to say about the flick.

2 thoughts on “A day without coffee, my concerns with ’50/50′

  1. Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

