That’s all folks!

Thursday marked the end of my tenure as a Daily Caller online editor. As Matthew Boyle expected, I received tons of goodbye hugs and good wishes from everyone throughout the day.

In the morning, office manager Laura B. brought Krispy Kreme donuts, which were demolished by noon:

I had my usual weekly coffee trip with Matt Lewis and went out to lunch with Vince, with whom I worked most during my time at TheDC. In my last hours at the office, I made two slideshows: One dedicated to fall and another about redheads. I wish I’d written a big story of some sort to go out with a bang, but as Vince jokingly said, “She’s been comatose for two weeks.”

Truthfully, I’ve just been excited to start working at The Levo (League) and move to New York, so I guess you could compare me to a high school senior who has just been accepted to college. You know you’ll miss the familiarity of your home and nice classmates, but are looking forward to a new beginning elsewhere. Though the whole endeavor is nerve-wracking, I’m proud of my decision.

Earlier today, I read a powerful piece by my acquaintance Jessica Pearce Rotondi over at Huffington Post Women. Titled “The Upside of Being a Quitter”, the article explains why it’s okay to walk away from something that gives you a bad feeling in your stomach or is simply unbearable.

“The key to success, it seems, lies not in never quitting, but in knowing when to quit,” Rotondi writes, adding that there’s a stigma against quitting everything from jobs to weekly yoga classes. We’re told not to give up on love, our dreams, and our work, but should we suffer something we hate just for the sake of being able to say we pulled through it?

Of course, there are big losses associated with quitting, and you could suffer financially as a result. One woman was a sliver away from tying the knot with her fiance when it dawned on her that he was not the guy for her. Rotondi writes of the woman:

“Ultimately, she realized the material cost of plane tickets and printed invitations couldn’t outweigh the emotional costs of marrying someone wrong for her, and so she ‘quit’ before the wedding. She is now happily hitched to a man she adores and with whom she has raised four sons.”

Imagine if she’d “toughed it out” and sealed the deal with Mr. Wrong. Would the doomed-from-the-start union end in divorce or cause the woman a lifetime of misery? As they say, quit while you’re ahead.

Reading through Rotondi’s story, I couldn’t help but think of my own current situation. Since January, I’ve wanted to live in New York City, but when my D.C. lease went up in August, I decided to stay in the area for another year to get a little more experience at TheDC. It seemed much safer to remain where I had a steady job that I loved. But as summer came to an end and my new best buddy Nikki moved back to California, I realized there was little keeping me in D.C. besides my job. Regardless, I wanted to cover women’s issues, reside in a cosmopolitan city, be surrounded by art and creativity, and avoid politics, so I knew I may have made a mistake in choosing to stay in D.C. another year.

When I was presented with the incredible opportunity to relocate up to New York City and write for a chic website geared towards professional women, I seized it. Yes, I’ll have to move again and clear out my D.C. residence, but the cost and inconvenience of lugging my stuff up north are trivial compared to staying in the wrong place for at least one more year for the sake of security.

As Matt Lewis said yesterday, “The greatest way to guarantee a stress-free existence is to do nothing and avoid risks.” We both agreed that’s no way to live life.

After saying goodbye to everybody yesterday, I went out for drinks with colleagues Laura, Paul, Matt Boyle, Steven, and Peter (also known as my twin):

Twins!

Can’t forget Steven, my trusty fellow online editor.

Online editor BFFs!

Saying goodbye to my colleagues was much harder than I anticipated. I cried after Vince and his wife Alison said bye, and was shocked to get not one but TWO hugs from eccentric, hysterical reporter Neil Munro, who scolded my friend Nikki this summer for being “too cheerful.” When I graduated college last May, I never expected to make such amazing friends in the labor force. I’m pleasantly surprised to have been proven wrong. Thanks for the memories, guys. ❤

Leave a Reply

