Winter coat, dodging danger, and willing away the next week

Until next week, when I officially check out of my DC apartment, life is going to be very stressful, and I may be unpleasant as a result. In the beginning of the tedious moving process, I faked a smile and giggles but am simply too exhausted, busy, and sleep deprived to sustain giddiness as I face the reality that I will probably have to pay clean-up fees on top of everything else because my DC apartment isn’t spotless (apartment building company, you suck!).

If you can’t tell, I’m feeling surly, which is uncharacteristic of me. I will give anything for the next two weeks to end, so until then, I’m probably going to be a pain. I apologize in advance for being short, but I simply can’t handle more than I have on my plate until the end of the month.

Of course, the moving process isn’t totally miserable. I had time to buy a winter jacket today! Upon hearing about the L  (L)’s great news, my mom encouraged me to go shopping for a new outfit. All I really wanted was a coat, so I got one. Last week, one of my NYC acquaintances tugged at my H&M coat and said it would not get me through the winter, so I headed to TJ Maxx this afternoon for a body-length jacket. It’s amazing but will hopefully not be necessary for at least another month. Stay away, winter!

My new Brooklyn apartment, into which I officially move on Tuesday, has grown on me. I love my neighbors, roommates, and the surrounding stores. There’s a great coffee joint. Dunkin’ Donuts, and bakery down the street, so I’m set in terms of nearby necessities. I feel very safe there, especially having spent some time in other Brooklyn neighborhoods, so I’m looking forward to treating myself on the weekends.

Another thing I love about NYC? The food offerings. A few days ago, L (L) founder Caroline introduced me to The Tea Set, a bistro in the west village. She got us all lunch, and I had the most delicious croissant of my life:

The greatest touch was the bechamel sauce, which tastes like a mix between Hollandaise and butter. If anyone visits me in NYC, I’ll take them out to the Tea Set for lunch and Grom for dessert. I can’t tell you how excited I was to see Grom, which was my favorite gelato shop during my Florence trip this summer, in Greenwich Village. After my vacation, I thought about flying back to Italy for some Crema di Grom gelato, so thankfully I don’t have to do that. Even if I wanted to go to Grom in Florence, I couldn’t, as it’s closed from September to April. Winter, you’re awful.

Another bit of somewhat exciting news: I found an interesting coffee shop in Chelsea. It’s called Bourbon Coffee, and I prefer the ambiance to that of Starbucks. Hooray non-chains!

By the way, I’m beyond excited that Jeffrey Eugenides, author of my favorite book “Middlesex,” has come out with a new novel, “The Marriage Plot.” I’m probably going to pick it up tonight. He rarely publishes books, but when he does, they’re amazing. I wasn’t a huge fan of “Virgin Suicides,” but “Middlesex” is truly a masterpiece. Check it out if you haven’t.

Leave a Reply

