Bachmann wrong on this whole prom thing

You don’t need to have worked in political news to know that the media loves to hate Republican presidential contender Michele Bachmann. Marc Maron has said he hopes Bachmann’s husband “[fucks] her angrily, Jimmy Fallon’s team played the song, “Lyin’ Ass Bitch” as the Minnesota politician walked onstage during her guest appearance, and people everywhere are quick to call her dumb. This treatment is harsh, but I will admit that Bachmann is off on several issues.

English: Marcus Bachmann with his wife Michele...
Image via Wikipedia

This weekend, I read a puzzling transcript of the conservative’s recent interview with television show host Sean Hannity in which she said her daughters are forbidden from asking boys to the prom. In Bachmann’s day, the congresswoman said, girls simply didn’t attend the prom if they weren’t asked. The same rule applies to Bachmann’s girls:

“People do find out [in my book] that I did not get asked to my senior prom,” Bachmann said. “And our girls are not allowed to do that in our house. They have to wait for the boys to call.”

Unlike much of the population, I don’t wear my disagreement with Bachmann’s beliefs as a badge of honor, nor do I feel better about myself when berating her ideologies. I do, however, think this is a ridiculous, outdated approach to life.

I never would have gone to either of my proms had I followed this rule. During my junior year, I was dating a senior but had to be the one to ask whether we would be going to prom. The same went for my friend Crystal. Both of our significant others were willing to take us, but needed a push. Had I never brought it up, my then-boyfriend wouldn’t have thought to invite me, he said, as he’d skipped his junior prom due to being single. The next year, I asked a friend from a neighboring high school to accompany me so I wouldn’t end up going stag. He agreed to come, but if I hadn’t made the effort, I would have either went alone or not at all.

Oops! Forgot to wear red.

Bachmann’s views on prom are silly because she’s not encouraging her girls to go after what they want. It’s unwise to senselessly chase after a boy who doesn’t want you, but for many high school students, prom isn’t necessarily a romantic affair. Many teenagers simply don’t want to go alone. I’m not sure where I stand with regards to asking men out on dates, but that’s another issue entirely.

Tell me, readers, do you think girls should simply wait to be asked to prom or be proactive in their planning?

Leave a Reply

