Introducing the newest member of the iPhone club

After two solid years as an inseparable duo, I kissed my BlackBerry goodbye today in favor of an iPhone. Though I’ll miss the predictability of my old device, the constant rebooting was infuriating, and I simply needed to be part of the instagram club. So now I have this awesome new phone, which was sold to me by a rather charming young lad. I gotta tell you, it’s really nice that guys are taller than me on this side of the country. It’s not that way at all in New York, which is home of too many vegetarians! The same can be said about California, but there’s something about the weather here that just puts everyone in a good mood and in better health.

I must say, I don’t think I’ve been in such high spirits since fall. Though I’ve had a ball in NYC, the sun simply doesn’t cut it for me over there. It’s weak. That’s why I ran around outside for three hours today. I chased my nephews and their chocolate Labrador around the backyard until my skin was fried and I had a visible sunburn. I don’t think I’ve ever been happy to get sunburned, as it was grounds for punishment during my childhood and youth, but I’d rather suffer physical problems than be depressed in gloomy weather. There’s no way of going around it: I need sunshine as much as I need food. My sanity depends on it.

This is going to be a rather short entry, as my mom and I are about to see “Five Year Engagement” starring my future fiance Jason Segel, so here are some photos from the day to give you an idea of what I’ve been up to.

With Mary, the awesome au pair who is moving back to Colombia 😦
Nephews!
Love them to death

Family visits are never without drama or reminders of why I chose to move so far away from my formative years, but this particular trip has shown me that my ideal place in life would involve having a house in the bay area as well as an apartment in Manhattan. I want to get to a point in which I may have both. Given my field of work, NYC would always come first, but I would love to be able to escape to northern California when my faith in humanity needs restoring and my skin thirsts for UV rays. Let’s not forget my nephews and little niece in southern and northern California, either. They’re far too special to only see several times a year. I hope they realize that.

Leave a Reply

