Tags

, , , ,

Memorial Day weekend should be awesome, but so far, it’s been nothing but lonely and creepy. Earlier this week, my hilarious roommate, Jen flew back to Phoenix for a couple of days, and I haven’t taken her absence well, to say the least. More than anything, I’m just accustomed to people being in the apartment, and its emptiness just brings me back to my isolated Brooklyn days that really weren’t so long ago.

Thankfully, she’ll be back on Monday, but I’m so used to spending the weekends with her that it’s downright weird to be all by myself at home, especially since I no longer cover the Sunday shift at work (high five!). I’ve been doing all I can to stay out of the apartment, but the unpredictable weather patterns have made that rather difficult. I don’t want to get stuck in the rain for the millionth time this spring. So I hole up in my room and watch season five of “Gossip Girl.”

XOXO, Gossip Girl

Speaking of which, I’m really bummed that the TV drama is ending next year. I only got into the program two months ago, so while I’ve been on “GG” overload for a short period of time, I haven’t enjoyed the program year after year as many loyal viewers have. I feel like it’s coming to a close too soon. Meanwhile, all the cast members have already mentally checked out. Chace Crawford and Leighton Meester plan to return to Los Angeles and Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds are shacking up in Bedford. As the Hawaiian dude says in Forgetting Sarah Marshall, “find a new show.” They certainly have.

And I did…sort of. I’m really liking Comedy Central’s “Workaholics,” which reminds me of the people I grew up with and studied alongside in college. It also takes place out west and follows a bunch of post-college men-children who don’t know the first thing about being adults. It’s mind numbing and nothing more than brainless entertainment, but I appreciate having something to laugh at  after work. Still, I’d be lying if I said I’m not going to miss “GG.” I’ll just have to re-watch all the seasons once its over for good.

