‘The Glass Castle’ to be adapted into film!

If you know anything about me, you’re aware that I have an unhealthy obsession with David Sedaris. Even he poked fun at me for it. But before I was introduced to his unique and hilarious nonfiction works, I read Jeannette Walls’s memoir, “The Glass Castle,” which was the first book that inspired me to go into nonfiction.

I read “The Glass Castle” the summer after my senior year of high school and loved everything about the first person narrative. Walls lays out her unusual childhood, which involved her parents choosing a nomadic and homeless existence simply for the thrill of it. Their lives weren’t easy, but Walls loved her family more than anything, especially her adventurous father. It goes to show that tight knit families come in many different forms. Here’s a great video ad about the book:

I really owe my nonfiction career to Walls, who made me decided to tell my own family story in book-form (more on that later!), so I was thrilled to learn that “The Glass Castle” may be adapted into film and star Jennifer Lawrence, as noted by my buddy Kendra in her “Half Broke Horses” review.


As much as I like J-Law, she’s not what I had in mind for the role of Jeannette, whose character is really sweet and never exhibits anger or self-pity. Lawrence isn’t whiny, but she’s not good-natured, either. That’s not her style. Jeannette is almost unrealistically likable and sweet. I don’t think that’s Lawrence’s specialty at all. We’ll see what happens. It has to be someone without a chip on her shoulder or combative, resentful attitude.

Thoughts?

One thought on “‘The Glass Castle’ to be adapted into film!

  1. I want to express some appreciation to you just for rescuing me from this condition.
    Just after looking out through the the net and finding things which were not powerful, I assumed my life was done.
    Being alive without the presence of solutions to
    the problems you’ve solved as a result of this short post is a serious case, as well as those that might have adversely affected my career if I had not come across your blog post. Your primary expertise and kindness in taking care of all the things was excellent. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t discovered such a stuff like this. I’m able to now look ahead to my future. Thanks a lot very much for your impressive and amazing guide. I won’t hesitate to endorse your blog post to any individual who should receive guidelines about this topic.

Leave a Reply

