Tags

,

Spotted this at the Union Square Barnes & Noble today. Held up the line to take a picture of it:

The Girl Scout Crunch bars are also here! And they’re really good, so buy a few while they’re still on sale:

Saw this little guy before grabbing lunch yesterday. Among many others, he inspired me to start a Dog Heroes blog. One of these days, I’ll get around to it:

Want to know the top Dog Hero on my mind right now? My pup Roxy, whose July 4 escape story was just revealed to me in full. The family that found her lives five miles from our house and called my mom a few days ago. Roxy ran through the canyons until she found a porch with a cushy bench and some blankets. Like the con artist she is, she charmed the little girls in the home and was given food and water as such. My mom knew that would happen. I, however, feared she would starve to death somewhere. I shouldn’t have underestimated her like that. She’s like Kevin from “Home Alone”: resourceful and too adorable to turn away. If she were human, she’d be a femme fatale. Clearly she has the power to make us all feel awful, even in her old age.

The funny thing is, she heard the fireworks and literally ran for the hills. She was probably trying to get as far away from the noise as possible. I want to call her a smart canine for holding her own for a full day, but she’s really not. No dog with good instincts would do what she did, but we love her anyway. I just don’t want her to let me down like that again.

Roxy!

Roxy with all the diaries I kept as a child

