What am I reading right now?

Now that the insufferable “Fifty Shades” series is out of my life, I can go back to reading good stuff. I’ll admit I enjoyed the first installment of the trilogy, but was not a fan of the way it ends. I’m going to do a separate blog post on why the books are terrible for feminism, but that rant is for another day.

Right now, here are some hardcovers collecting dust  on my bedstand, and by bedstand, I mean floor, as my room is too small to fit anything besides my queen mattress.

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn

This is the suspense everyone is raving about. When Amy Dunne goes missing on her five-year wedding anniversary, her husband becomes a top suspect. I’m not far into the novel yet but hope to finish it this weekend. I appreciate that it alternates narrators and addresses how the technology boom decreased the quality of writing in media and left many veteran journalists out cold.

Maine, J. Courtney Sullivan

Haven’t started “Maine” yet, but I loved “Commencement” by the same author, so I know I’m going to gobble this one up as well. Good read for my cross-country flight to the wedding next week. It’s a family story told through the eyes of three women, and we all know how much I like when books have multiple narrators.

I need to finish…

In One Person, John Irving

I’ve been a John Irving fan since age 14, so I was relieved when he finally pushed out a new book. I don’t think I like this one as much as his other works, particularly “A Widow for One Year” or “Until I Find You,” but it’ll do. I’ve missed him a lot. This guy got me through high school, for God’s sake.

Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?, Jeannette Winterson

Excellent memoir of a woman whose religious parents condemned and punished her for being a lesbian. They adopted her, so she didn’t have it easy to begin with. After they perform an exorcism on her, she runs away, sleeps outside, and tries to find solace in romantic relationships. Sad story, but nonfiction is my thing.

On my birthday list (which my mom has!) :):

Most excited for Emily Giffin’s “Where We Belong,” which hits the market the day before my birthday. There’s a reason for that. Figure it out.

Leave a Reply

