Sleep is the most glorious thing in the world

Las Vegas, Nevada
Las Vegas, Nevada (Photo credit: RobertCiavarro)

Sorry for the hiatus, y’all, I’ve just been reconnecting with an old and dear friend: sleep. That’s right. I’ve been going to bed before 11:00 p.m. most nights and waking up feeling happy and energetic. Last night was slightly different, as I couldn’t sleep until midnight or so, but I still read for a half hour before shutting off the lights. It’s been a glorious change. I know I’m supposed to be up until 2 a.m. to maintain this “creative writer” stuff and what not, but I actually feel more useful after seven hours of rest. You know what that means: I’m getting old.

Anyway, that partially explains my absence. I’ve been tied up, to say the least, and also quite excited for my upcoming trip to Vegas and reunion with the great Nikki Grey. It’s hard to believe we haven’t see each other in more than a year. Nothing has changed since summer 2011 though, and it’s my hope that we can live closer to each other in the coming years. We joke that we’re going to be in the same city very soon and laughing about how awful the distance seemed when I was in NYC.

I’m thinking of relocating to southern California or San Jose within the next two years. I want to stay in New York for a while, but as I wrote in my previous blog post, I’m beginning to see just how much I’m missing out on by being so far away from my family. I missed my nephew Sawyer’s first day of Kindergarten. I’ve neglected poor Cullen and Hannah even more, as I only see those two once a year. They deserve a better aunt than that, and it breaks my heart that I sacrificed time with them for my own selfish pursuits. That won’t be permanent, though, and I plan on making it up to each of them somehow. Maybe I’ll become the cool aunt and drive them around when they want rides in 10-13 years. Or I’ll buy them alcohol when their parents refuse (JK! Hi, Kevin and Mikey! Hope you know I’m not serious!). Whatever it takes, I’ll do it.

Moral of the story: go to bed at 10:30 every night and never move across the country from your family.

Leave a Reply

