Tags

, ,

Switch -September- for -December- (hey, they even sound alike) and you’ve got my situation, which Taylor Swift explains best in her tune, “Back to December.” I just wish I didn’t have to be punished this much for a single wrong-doing. I don’t want to seem totally lame for deferring to a pop singer, but I’m already pretty vulnerable at the moment, so what’s one more florid move on my part? This goes for more than one person, by the way. It’s unfortunately easy to take others for granted, at least if you’re me:

“So this is me swallowing my pride
Standing in front of you, saying I’m sorry for that night
And I go back to December all the time

It turns out freedom ain’t nothing but missing you
Wishing I’d realized what I had when you were mine
I go back to December, turn around and change my own mind
I go back to December all the time

Maybe this is wishful thinking
Probably mindless dreaming
But if we loved again, I swear I’d love you right

I’d go back in time and change it, but I can’t
So if the chain is on your door, I understand”

