Could you pretend to live like it’s the pre-cell phone age again?

Tomorrow night, my friend and I are finally going to see “Perks of Being a Wallflower,” the film adaptation of the highly lauded (and you know, slightly overrated) YA novel. We’ve wanted to check the movie out for a while, but she just broke her phone, so we had to set a concrete time and place to meet for tomorrow night. I need to be at the theater at 7:30 no matter what. Otherwise, she could become really confused…or worse, irate. Should anything change, I can reach her on Facebook during the daytime, but she won’t have phone access until this weekend.

There’s not much to say about this little non-story other than that it brings me back to the early 2000s, when I was cell phone-free and dependent on plans always coming together. I got into many bad situations as a kid as a result of having no mobile device, and while it was freeing to not have the constant urge to see whether someone has tried to reach me (hello, neuroses), I don’t miss the drama that came with wire crossings.

One day in eighth grade, school let out at 12:15, three hours earlier than when the bell normally rang. My parents didn’t know about the schedule change, so I sat waiting for them all afternoon, sobbing like the wussy 13-year-old I was because no one could break my dollar bill and give me the two quarters I needed to use the pay phone. The only other people whose parents hadn’t come to get them were the “troublemaker students.” I’m not really sure why they were categorized as such back then besides the fact that they loved wearing all black and slicing their wrists with hair clips. At any rate, these folks weren’t willing to help me out, so I walked around in circles trying to formulate a strategy to get home. I considered walking, as my house was less than a mile away from the school, but worried my parents would come looking for me and panic after seeing that I wasn’t at my usual pick-up spot.

I also thought about going into the nearby Mexican restaurant to make a call home, but most of the venue managers weren’t keen on having a school in their vicinity, so they were pretty uninviting to students. So I waited and waited until my mom rolled up in her Honda. Once I hopped into the passenger’s seat, I burst into tears.

“I’ve been waiting all day!” I wailed. “And nobody would take my dollar.”

“I’m so sorry. From now on, I’m going to make sure you always have lots of quarters with you,” she said.

Now, I don’t need quarters. I don’t even really need paper currency. What I would need in a modern instance is an iPhone charger. Lucky me, I’ve got two, and I carry the spare with me wherever I go. I’m not too happy with the iPhone right now, though…More specifically, I’m displeased with Apple. I misspelled my password today only to have that nanny state company lock me out of my account. This has happened twice before and enrages me. Can they just pretend that their customers are adults and stop pulling BS all the time? They recently screwed up with the whole Google Maps thing too, so clearly they’re far from perfect (that’s okay because we’re all in the same boat). As you can see, I’m a little frustrated at the moment, but cut me some slack. I’m ready for the week to end. Aren’t you feeling the same way after the presidential debate? I aged just watching it.

I’m coming up my one-year NYC anniversary, you know. I don’t know where the time has gone — I’ve had  a lot of fun here, but mostly in the last few months. To tell you the truth, the past month has been the most exciting I’ve had in New York thus far. Six weeks ago, I complained of monotony, boredom, apathy, all things you don’t really want to use to describe yourself in a sentence. I said I’d rather be miserable and devastated than indifferent, and let’s just say things got a little too exciting and unpredictable soon after I made my wish. I’m definitely in a better place now than I was when everything felt dull, but I’d say I’m just a tad over-stimulated, and that is applicable to all aspects of life. A lot of amazing things are happening, but I’m also craving a sliver of normalcy, which I’m not going to get from frequent trips to the gym or even my daily writing regimen.

Luckily my roommate Jen keeps me sane and laughing at all times, and Hillary is there for me no matter what. Heck, Jen is half the reason things turned around for me in September. She’s a major part of why I want to stay in New York long-term.

Oh yeah, about that. Remember when I was like, really, really blue about the weather and what not here? Well, this feelings no longer stand. I seriously feel like a switch went off and I began to adore all-things NYC. I love that I can go into the subway and find a masseuse who can teach me how to relieve my neck tension right then and there. What’s even better is that no one looks over and acts all judgy and weirded out. It takes a lot to scare people here, and that certainly makes life interesting. I enjoy living in a place in which free vibrators are disrupted to the public. I appreciate a city that runs on public transportation and encourages green living. I’m beginning to realize that the positives outweigh the negatives. I’ll just have to rake in a ton of money someday so I can visit my California family whenever I please.

Speaking of which, I am doing just that in a week! I haven’t hung out with my puppy Roxy since before she freaked out and ran away on July 4, so I’m sure I’ll be happier than ever to pick her up again. It will also be fun to catch up with my mom, brother, sister-in-law, and nephews, among others. Last but not least, I am going to eat some incredible burritos over there. Hopefully on the beach. Glorious.

And yet, I feel in my heart going home won’t be the answer to any of the above issues. I will, however, enjoy having a break from the city, which has felt nothing less than magical as of late — to a fault. There’s a lot going on right now and I can barely catch my breath. Maybe I should buy a bag of Bella Donovan coffee for comfort:

One thought on “Could you pretend to live like it’s the pre-cell phone age again?

  1. I think it would be very difficult to go back to the vagueness of non-cell phone times. Mostly because people are WAY too lazy with plans now and it would be a challenge to get people to commit to an actual time and place…If I didn’t have a phone I have a feeling I’d be very out-of-the-loop, but it would be freeing! In other news, I’m so glad to hear that you’re loving New York!

Leave a Reply

