Come at me, Hurricane Sandy

I’m currently waiting for Hurricane Sandy to hit New York. I should be nervous, if anything because the whole city is going to shut down and I probably won’t be able to have Starbucks for a couple of days, but I’m feeling good. I don’t have to be alone for this hurricane, unlike last year, when I shamefully got through Irene thanks to a Hilary Duff marathon, which I of course detailed in this blog:

Yesterday morning, I downloaded Netflix’s month-long free trial, which gives temporary users access to television shows and really shitty films. Because I’m still without a TV and have been roommate-less for the last month, the loneliness became unbearable last night, when the tropical storm actually started to freak me out. To keep my cool, I turned on my iPad and searched through the free Netflix movie selection. Unfortunately, I didn’t have much to choose from. My best bets were “According to Greta” and “Beauty & the Briefcase,” both starring none other than Duff herself, so I decided to check those out…

As the sky turned electric green last night, Duff’s films kept me company. I have two days left before moving in with my new roommate (HI MONIQUE!), so until then, I have D-list rom-coms to keep my heart rate low. Hilary Duff, you did it again! For the next tropical storm, I’ll rent “Material Girls“!

This storm is going to be much different. I’m in upper Manhattan as opposed to northern Virginia, my apartment isn’t totally empty, and I have two lovely souls in my living space to keep me calm. The subway system will be suspended in two hours, so we’re going to be stuck here for a while. That’s why Jen and I had our last supper at Chipotle this afternoon. Unfortunately it was pretty underwhelming, but the best thing about Chip-Chip is that its meals always keep me full for 24 hours. I’m set for another day! We proceeded to Duane Reede, which was out of water packs, forcing us to purchase water by the bottle. You don’t even want to know what Fairway Market looked like from the outside — it was overflowing with people. At any rate, I’m prepared for the Apocalypse:

Hurricane Sandy survival kit

Even if the world does end after all, at least I can say I had an interesting Halloween weekend. It was pretty cold out and I wasn’t in love with the club Miranda, but we had a pretty awesome dance party at her friend’s apartment prior to hitting the town:

It took forever to get back to the upper east side, though. Two cab drivers refused to give us a ride even after I threatened to report them for denying us service (it’s against the law to do that), but after a lot of begging on my part, the third cabbie obliged. Let me tell ya, there are few things worse than being soaking wet (some girl spilled a glass of water all over me at 3:30 a.m.) in the cold at 4:00 a.m. and unable to get back to your warm bed. I was beyond exhausted and freezing and knew complaining would only worsen the situation, so I kept my cool and was extremely relieved once we made it back to our place. I will say, however, that I never want to be in that situation again, so you better believe I won’t be spending New Years Eve or next Halloween downtown. I’m staying on the UES, because it truly was one of the worst experiences of my NYC life to be stranded in 45 degree weather in a soaked costume. At least it wasn’t raining!

On that note, the west village nightlife scene can suck it.

Leave a Reply

