America really does run on Dunkin’ Donuts, which was open during Hurricane Sandy

America runs on Dunkin’

I’ve loved Dunkin’ Donuts all my life, even though they’re few and far between in California. Every summer, I’d visit my family in the northeast and get really excited about trips to DD, a novelty for west coast me. When I asked my dad why my home state hadn’t really embraced DD, he said, “People are a little more health conscious where you come from.” Hence, I fled as soon as I could! Now that I live in New York, I go to Dunkin’ Donuts all the time, and I’m right where I belong.

But when I heard yesterday that Starbucks locations all over the city would be closing in preparation of Hurricane Sandy, I became worried that Dunkin’ would do the same. Because I’m a poor planner, I didn’t think to replace my Keurig coffee maker when it molded a few months ago, so I’ve been without a coffee pot for a long time. That means no coffee unless I venture out into the streets of New York. I can’t start my day without any caffeine, so I called my neighborhood Dunkin’ this morning and found out that they were operating normally. I immediately threw a hoodie over my flannel pajama top, changed my clothes, and dashed out the door. There were a lot of people out, and the winds weren’t any worse than they’d been yesterday.

Dunkin’ had a decent amount of customers as well. Many of us are willing to risk our lives to get our morning coffee fix. I know I am.

Anyway, the company slogan “American runs on Dunkin'” has taken on a whole new meaning for me. I gave the employees a massive tip, and if you happen to pay them a visit today, you should do the same. DD for life!

2 thoughts on “America really does run on Dunkin’ Donuts, which was open during Hurricane Sandy

Leave a Reply

