2013, I need you to be better than 2012

Lauren and Laura

Remember when I raved about New Years Eve 2011? It’s hard to believe almost a year has gone by since Lauren, Crystal, and I last hung out, but when I think about all that has changed since then, I’m not surprised. Lauren got a new job in Hollywood, where she’s living like a king. Crystal has a nice boyfriend, who is also a student at her optometry school. As for me? Well, 2012 has certainly been an adventure, but I worry I’ll walk out of it with my hands empty.

In late January of this year, I parted ways with the company that had wooed me to NYC in the first place. It was a peaceful but abrupt departure, but I loved the job that followed. Two months later, I moved out of my Bed Stuy apartment into an awesome 2-bedroom on the upper east side, and I’ll definitely say that the best part of this year was meeting and befriending my random roommate Jen, who has shown me how to enjoy New York to the fullest and encouraged me to have as much fun as possible. Even so, 2012 was pretty monotonous and dull until September, when I was actually bombarded by excitement and constant insanity. Then everything slowed down again, and I get the feeling that it’s going to stay that way the rest of the year.

The hurricane took a lot out of New Yorkers last week, and today’s Nor’easter certainly didn’t help. A lot of people have asked why I bother living here, and though I dislike snowstorms and hurricanes, I’m not in NYC for day-to-day pleasures or leisure. Everyone here is trying to be part of something bigger, and that’s why I don’t want to leave. If I keep plugging away and change my attitude, 2013 will surpass my expectations, and 2012 will go down in history as just another year.

Tonight is my second night at a hotel in SoHo. I decided to stay in one yesterday because of the election, and today I just needed a break from everything. I’ve been pretty sick, but I think I’ve finally healed after hours and hours of holing myself up in my room, so that’s good news. I do, however, already miss my UES apartment. Funny how I can’t be away from it for more than a day without feeling sad.I guess that means I’ve truly made myself at home here.

Leave a Reply

