Finding a new normal in New York

Given today’s heavy rainfall/light snowfall in NYC, can you believe I was in a place this warm and beautiful less than a week ago?

California dreamin’

I can already tell we’re going to have a rough winter. It has snowed twice already and we haven’t even reached December. Am I going to spend the next six months in total discomfort? That’s part of the NYC package, I guess, and so is having to pick up odd jobs every once in a while.

That’s what I’ve been doing lately. I’ve begun nannying for an adorable 4-year-old in lower Manhattan. He’s quite possibly the most well-behaved toddler I’ve ever met, and the hours fly by when I babysit him. I learn a lot from kids these days, but I’m most intrigued by the invention of books that read themselves. Those weren’t around during my childhood, but I can imagine I would have loved to have one. The boy I babysit enjoys reading more than anything else, an interesting hobby for someone growing up around iPhones, iPads, and rapid technological advancement. Props to his family for showing him there’s more to life than eye-straining screens and gadgets. He’s going to be just fine, I know it.

Though I’m quite content with all the new things I’m doing, the winter blues have definitely set in. No matter how many times I watch “Home Alone” or other Christmas movies, I can’t seem to get into holiday mode. Too many things are changing so I’m quite honestly focused on taking it all one day at a time. Mom sold my childhood home and will be moving to the beach, the weather is cooling down here, and I’ve lost the structure of going to an office everyday. I thought freelancing would feel liberating, and while I certainly love working in my pajamas and eschewing shapeless corporate attire, I miss having people to talk to all the time. To tell you the truth though, I haven’t really had that in more than a year, as the last place for which I worked was quiet and less social than The Daily Caller, which financed party buses for its employees and allowed stuff like this to happen. As my mom’s boyfriend would say, I thrive off excitement and chaos.

“Laura, if I wanted to get your attention at a bar, I’d shoot back some tequila and flail my arms around,” he said last week.

So, world, give me a situation that will make my heart race 100 beats a minute. Throw a curve ball at me. Or just help me see how I may add a little flavor to my seemingly isolated, dreary existence. I suppose this is what I get for enjoying fall a little too much, if you know what I mean. The season was awesome, messy, chaotic, surprising, and hilarious, and as many of you know from experience, extreme highs can bring extreme lows — or at least tamer periods. Perhaps that’s what I need right now? Nah. I may laugh at many of Miley Cyrus’s life choices, but she’s right that some of us just aren’t meant to be subdued.

One thought on “Finding a new normal in New York

Leave a Reply

