Breaking: I’ve come to a decision about my hair color

A little more than a week ago, I asked my blog, Twitter, and Facebook followers whether I should go back to my natural hair color — strawberry blond — or continue getting full blond highlights every six weeks. The results were split. Half of you said I should return to red, the shade I was cursed born with, and the other 50 percent urged me to maintain my new look.

In 2008
In 2008
In 2008
In 2008
In 2007
In 2007

Now:

2011
2011
From left: Lauren, Nikita, Crystal, and me
From left: Lauren, Nikita, Crystal, and me
Now
Now

With serious consideration, I’ve made my decision: I’m going to keep getting highlights. While many of you (perhaps the majority) believe red suits me better, I feel more myself and comfortable with blond locks. As I told my buddy Adam, who voted ginger, I chose to go blond in the first place because I had no control over my appearance growing up. I hated, I repeat, hated, being a redhead. At times, the whole package can be terrible: I’m paler than the “Twilight” vamps, I was caked in freckles until my teen years, when they mysteriously faded away, and people love to make extremely crude and sexually demeaning jokes about what my downstairs must look like. During my freshman year of high school, a classmate approached me to say that half her English course had taken a survey on what color my private area must be. She wanted an answer to give to the other idiots, but I told her to piss off. Just kidding, I ignored the moronic inquiry and walked away in disgust.

In addition to all that nonsense, I loathed the fugly pageboy-esque style my mom and dad made me get every month.

Vegas 1999, because I was such a rager in fifth grade!
Vegas 1999, because I was such a rager in fifth grade!

Though I was never a typical beauty during youth, a part of me is grateful my parents made me go through an awkward phase. Now I’m free to do whatever I please, and at the moment, I want to be blond. I’ve gotten more positive attention since making the change, and I feel more adult and confident this way. If I had to go back for whatever reason, I would, but I’m happy to just be strawberry blond. I apologize to all my fellow full-fledged gingers, but that’s just not me anymore.

Ironically, one of my good childhood friends, Crystal just went brunette for the first time in her life. It doesn’t really matter what we think of it, though. All that matters is she’s happy, and the same goes for me with regard to my own hair!

One thought on “Breaking: I’ve come to a decision about my hair color

Leave a Reply

