My niece’s birth was my light at the end of the tunnel today

The unthinkable happened today: a seriously disturbed guy opened fired on a classroom of elementary school students, reportedly killing twenty children and six adults before ending his own life. It’s going to be a while before the news cycle stops reporting on this, especially since most of the victims haven’t been identified by name yet, but I’m hoping we’ll all feel a little better about the state of things before we say farewell to 2012. I know I’m not alone in saying this year has been anything but awesome.

I’m lucky because my day ended on a positive note: my oldest brother welcomed his third child, Grace, into the family. I can now officially say I have nieces and nephews! Three boys, two girls. I think my siblings are done having kids for a while, but these five are more than I could have ever asked for.

Can’t wait to meet you, Grace! Thanks for cheering me up today. I’m beyond blessed to have you.

Leave a Reply

