Lots and lots of fun updates and why 2013 is incredible so far

I don’t know about you, but 2013 definitely feels like my year. I know, I know, that’s an incredible obnoxious and thoughtless thing to say, but begin the amount of complaining on this blog, I’m allowed to celebrate every once in a while.

As a former colleague of mine used to ask me, “What’s good, Laura?” Well, for starters, I bought a Keurig today, much to the relief of my partner-in-crime Derek Dye, who visited a couple of weeks ago and couldn’t understand why I hadn’t replaced my old coffee pot that had molded.

Keurig

You know what this means, right? Fewer trips to Dunkin’ Donuts, but I prefer to make my own coffee, so this is a better and less expensive alternative. Now all I need is a to-go coffee cup to take with me to work.

You read that correctly: I got a new (full-time!!!) editing job. I’ve honestly never been more excited for a position in my life, and I feel incredibly lucky to be part of such an amazing, talented, ambitious, and fun team. Thank you 2013 for so many amazing new opportunities and inspiring me to make the changes I wanted to see in my life.

Speaking of which, TJD interviewed me about “The Wingmen,”  so you should really check that out…and buy the book, duh 🙂 Once again, I want to thank everyone who has supported my book, which took a lot of courage to publish and send out into the world. I apologize that it has a few typos, but perhaps the second version (which I plan on releasing later this year) will be totally clean and presentable. Just try to understand that I’m still very green and learning about the publishing/media/writing world, which is particularly scary and intimidating in NYC. Hopefully I’ll feel more confident about my endeavors in a couple of years, when people aren’t constantly asking whether my life parallels that of Carrie Bradshaw. The answer will always be no, by the way, even if I find a way to afford shoes like these.

Leave a Reply

