My life has changed since I cut down on white bread and gluten

As much as I hate to say it, I wouldn’t be me without my worries and neuroses. Every time something aches, I assume the worst. Catastrophe, as my gastroenterologist put it. So when I had stomach pains for two weeks straight, I decided to go to the aforementioned medical professional.

I entered the waiting room in a state of fear, which she picked up on right away. What the short, brusque doctor lacked in bedside manner she made up for in competence. Almost immediately, she said, “What’s wrong with you?” and began typing away my symptoms. I was pretty tense the whole time, justifying my family history of terminal cancer for my anxiousness. She called me out on my nerves before giving me a diagnosis, and the little scolding was almost enough to bring me to tears. Not because she’d made me feel bad, but because I knew she was right that I didn’t have to go through life in such a panic.

At the end of the visit, she determined that I just need to eat a little better, so as soon as I left her office, I went to the grocery store, where I stocked up on everything she’d suggested. I also vowed to say goodbye to white bread, which actually makes me sick to my stomach now.

Though I don’t have a gluten allergy as many people do (unknowingly, apparently!), there’s only so much I can tolerate before feeling sick. So I’ve eliminated white bread from my diet (even my burrito tortillas are wheat now), and so far the change hasn’t been that bad. I’m energetic, happy, and feeling great. Sure I miss regular pasta and mac n’ cheese, but no food is worth feeling terrible afterward.

So, even if you love a certain food but always feel sick after consuming it, listen to your body and make some changes. Cut down on how much you eat it. I promise you won’t regret this choice.

One thought on “My life has changed since I cut down on white bread and gluten

Leave a Reply

