Tags

,

It’s my favorite time of year: summer. After a brutal, wet winter of ugly jackets, shredded pantyhose, and clothing overload, I’ve never been happier to welcome the humidity. When I’m not fanning myself by hand to stay cool on the subway platform or basking in the seasonal sunshine, I’ll be reading books. Here are two light, fluffy ones on my bookshelf right now:

“Revenge Wears Prada” by Lauren Weisberger:

Revenge Red_final

Just got this one today, cannot wait to start even though the reviews have been nothing short of horrendous so far. Still, it’s been like ten years since the first book’s release. I’ve been dying of anticipation ever since I finished that one, even though the movie turned out to be better than the novel.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

bernadette

 

OK, confession: I’m almost done with this book, but apparently there’s a twist ending, so I can’t really say with certainty whether I totally love it. So far, I’m a huge fan and the writing is awesome (not too surprising given that the author wrote for “Arrested Development”), but I am itching to know what happened to Bernadette at this point. Definitely pick this one up if you have a chance.

Any more recommendations you want to send my way? I’ll admit I never finished J.K. Rowling’s new book … it was just too sad. I still need to revisit the latest John Irving novel, which has been collecting more than just dust in my room, if you know what I mean. That reminds me: I need to vacuum and sweep this place STAT. I found a centipede a couple of weeks ago and seem to have been bitten by one. I’m not grown up enough to battle poisonous, ugly bugs. Where is a strong, fearless insect-killing man when I need one?! Better yet, where is the exterminator that’s supposed to sterilize each apartment unit every month?

There I go again … Anyway, send your favorite book titles my way!

 

