Tags

, , , , ,

I did something unusual today. I slept until 8:30 (OK, I had a doctor’s appointment at 9:30 and was permitted to skip the first half of the work day). Waking up refreshed for the first time in weeks, I jumped into the shower and felt so excited to welcome Hump Day. There was a lot to do (take out the trash and recycling bag, make my bed, dress myself, eat breakfast, throw on some eye makeup), but rather than pack it all in, ruin the pleasant start to the day, and be late for my visit, I decided not to apply any makeup. And it.felt.awesome.

Women are under a lot of pressure to look their best at work, and if you’re anything like me, some say you look tired and sleep-deprived when you don’t cake your face in beauty products. I may have appeared exhausted with no mascara or eye liner, but let me tell you: I wasn’t, and you want to know why? Because the fifteen minutes I would have used to put on makeup was spent resting in bed. Why don’t we all treat ourselves to 15-20 extra minutes of sleep at least once a week? Lord knows we need it, especially those of us on the fast track to burnout (afraid I’m in this rocky boat, but as I always say, that’s a post for another day!).

This actually reminds me of Dove’s viral Real Beauty campaign. Sure it was ripped apart by many for possibly sending the message that females are to blame for judging themselves too harshly, but I really liked the video, which still tells us that we’re much more beautiful than we give ourselves credit for. I’ll take it.

So, in light of my decision to just be lazy and not care today, I’m starting a movement (membership: one, ME!) called #NoMakeupWednesday, and on Hump Day of every week, I’ll let my skin breathe by keeping beauty products of all kind off my face. So far, I’ve received a decent amount of support, and by decent amount of support, I mean four <3's and 2 nice comments on Instagram (hey, I have to start somewhere!). #NoMakeupWednesday is a 24-hour event, so even if I have special plans for the evening, the rule still stands that I cannot wear makeup. Given the summer heat, I probably shouldn’t wear makeup everyday, as I just end up sweating it all off. Why bother?

I hate the whole selfie movement more than ANYTHING, but given this mission to prioritize my health over my vanity (at least on Wednesdays…), here’s my first makeup-free selfie. What do you know, I don’t actually look washed out or unsightly:

No Makeup Wednesday

No Makeup Wednesday

I’ll try to post one every Wednesday, and please feel free to send me your own if you’d like to be featured on my blog.

