Tags

, , ,

We all know I can’t stay away from social media, but I’m more about quality than quantity, so even though I’m on Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Facebook, Vine, LinkedIn, WordPress, etc., I only fully invest in a few mediums: I turn to Facebook for work-related articles and photo sharing, Instagram for pictures, Pinterest for sheer boredom, WordPress for discipline and maintaining somewhat of a following, LinkedIn for work, and Vine for nothing (until today). As you know, Twitter is my number one, but this evening I decided to actually try out my Vine account, and this is the boring, utterly pointless video I made of the storm outside (the embed code isn’t working for some reason, so you have to click that link).

Somehow, the video generated a recommendation, but please help me be better at Vine. I’ve never been a big video person and unfortunately that must change due to our visual-obsessed, lazy society. I prefer words to videos and photos, but I’m almost entirely alone in that, or so the internet and GIF culture would lead me to believe.

Let me know if you have any tips on optimal Vine usage. I’m not sure it’s for me, but I got the hang of Pinterest, WordPress, and Instagram in time, so maybe this will eventually catch on.

Speaking of words, I’m halfway through “Revenge Wears Prada,” the sequel to “Devil Wears Prada.” I loved the first 200 pages but am starting to lose interest. Certain sections just feel rushed, a stark contrast to other areas that drag on and have quite a build-up. The reviews haven’t been awesome, but I have immense respect for the writer, who truly did change the world with her brand and first novel, so I’ll finish it up and then pass the book onto my buddy Catherine, who has a lot more patience for slow story lines than I do.

Revenge Red_final

No other major updates right now … I have a big post I plan on rolling out within the next week or so. I think you’re going to like it, even though it’s going to dig up some rough memories and times for me. It’s necessary, though, and I’m relieved to finally discuss this particular subject in detail. Cryptic, I know, but I have to be that way. Otherwise, you’d stop visiting my blog. As Gerard Butler says in D-list comedy, The Ugly Truth, “Always keep them coming back for more.” Trying.

