Should I move back to Brooklyn next year?

I’ve come a long way since my “do or die Bed Stuy” days from fall 2011-early spring 2012. Jen and I have been upper east siders for a year and four months now, and though I’m starting to get sick of the neverending Second Avenue construction, mountains of trash that line our sidewalks 24/7, and unreasonable rent. As nice as it is to no longer live with ghosts who tap dance the night away and throw stuff around my room while I try to sleep, I’m worried I’ll have no choice but to leave Manhattan when my lease ends next year and become a Brooklyn resident once again. If so, let’s hope I don’t have to go back to this:

Beautiful view of the abandoned building outside my old room
Beautiful view of the abandoned building outside my old room
View from my bedroom window with the junkyard cropped out
View from my bedroom window with the junkyard cropped out

Many people love Brooklyn, and I definitely enjoy certain neighborhoods (Cobble Hill, Brooklyn Heights, Clinton Hill), but Manhattan has always been a better fit for me. If that makes me a spoiled, privileged Californian, so be it. I’ve been called much worse. I mean, I write for the internet!

XOXO, Gossip Girl
XOXO, Gossip Girl

The upper east side has definitely been great to me. I enjoy being close to 86th street, the 6 train, a slew of different gyms and parks, and of course Central Park. I can also flag down a taxi any time of day, and convenience means more to me than anything else at this point in my life. Things are going to change next year though, and I’m concerned the only affordable move would be to return to one of the boroughs. It would cost me less money, but the subways down there are fairly unreliable. Of course, I’m biased because I lived on the G for a few months, and everyone knows how awful that is.

So, guys, should I start mining Craigslist for hidden gems in Manhattan or concede to the fact that I’ll probably have to be more cost-effective next spring? Planning ahead is my thing, but a lot could happen in a year, so I’m going to hope for the best for once and just focus on getting through this week … and pray to stay in the city. I’m not ready for a quieter life in BK.

One thought on “Should I move back to Brooklyn next year?

Leave a Reply

