Tags

, , , ,

I love you all!

I love you all!

Growing up, summer was my favorite time of year, mainly because it gave me a respite from academia and peers I didn’t get along with. The season isn’t quite as fun for adults — you don’t get a three-month break and the sweltering heat can be tough to work through. NYC residents are at a bigger disadvantage with the humidity, so if you don’t have the means to run off to Martha’s Vineyard or some other exotic location during the dog days of summer, you’re stuck with the smell of hot garbage in the city.

I shouldn’t be so cynical about NYC in the summer. Nothing beats the Manhattan bar scene, I just had a birthday, and I love traipsing around in sundresses and skirts Jessica Day style (and with all this downtime, I’ve been singing, “Who’s that girl? It’s Jess!” to myself nonstop). I also get to visit Hawaii in a week (!!!), so I won’t be housebound for long. At any rate, I’ve written about this many times before, and I want to thank all of you who’ve kept up with my blog and shown your support for me. Summer 2013 was harder on me than any winter I’ve ever experienced on the east coast, but you all helped me through it, and I know I’m going to wrap up the season on a high note by traveling to Honolulu to see my greatest friend in the world. Hopefully that will make up for what I’d like to call The Lost Summer.

I went out with a couple of different friends earlier this week and was so happy to hear that they’d all been reading this blog religiously and used it to stay updated on what’s been going on with me. They knew about everything before even seeing me. It really means the world to me, and it does push me to churn out posts even when I’m feeling lazy. More often than not, I just don’t want to blog about the trivial or throw up an entry just to do it, but I’m here to serve you guys.

And what do you know? One of my recent posts actually helped a friend decided on a Christmas gift for his girlfriend. I don’t fancy myself as a fashion or style blogger, but I’m always happy to help. That’s why now is an appropriate time to share another favorite beauty product of mine: Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Oil:

Palmers-Cocoa-Butter-Formula-with-Vitamin-E-Skin-Therapy-Oil-010181041532

 

One of the things I love about summer is my freedom to wear flip flops and open-toed shoes. Of course, it’s easy to bang up your feet in these conditions, and if you’re not careful, you could end up with gross cracks on your heels. Apply these to your feet 1-2 times a day and you’ll have healthy looking skin. Always put on socks immediately afterward to allow your feet to soak up the oil, so try to take care of this before bed or when you know you won’t be leaving the house for a while.

I also like to use Burt’s Bees Foot Cream, but it’s very greasy, so keep that in mind:

burts-bees-coconut-foot-creme-review-2

As for wintertime maintenance, I can’t be of much help — just remember not to neglect your skin or appearance, even when you’re constantly bundled up.

I don’t have much else to add right now, but I promise to continue posting to this blog — that is, if you keep reading 🙂

